What’s wrong with this picture?

We keep the switch to our front porch light on all night. They are light-sensitive fixtures, so the bulbs are off during the day and come on when it gets dark. Sometime between yesterday and this morning the bulbs finally gave out, which means that during at least part (if not all) of the night, there was no front light. One of my front flower beds is mostly elephant-ear hostas. Huge leaves, and they flower in mid-August (although this year they flowered early). This is what I woke up to:

Does this look like hostas to you? Certainly doesn’t look like hostas to me. The deer almost always get my day-lillies down by the road, and they’ve feasted on my hostas in other parts of the yard. They’ve gotten my pansies (so I don’t even bother with those any more) and they’ve decimated our green beans in years past. But this is the first time in almost 20 years that the deer have come that close to the house when we’ve been home and eaten the flora in my front flower bed. Oh well, the deer have to eat too, I hope they enjoyed them.

Posted on August 14, 2010, in Animals, Flowers, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

